Korean Grill House 🍴

📍 3280 Midland Ave, Scarborough, Ontario

L and I recently went to visit my preferred all you can eat (ayce) Korean barbeque (kbbq) place recently. And let me tell you, I was disappointed in how much I used to adore this place until this recent visit.

This is how the menu looked like – there is also an a la carte option but we’re usually here for the ayce~

2015-10-26 18.13.23.jpg
AYCE Meat options!
2015-10-26 18.13.59.jpg
AYCE Veggie options

The prices for their all you can eat options. We usually get the basic options of K998, which consists of beef, pork, chicken, fish fillet, squid, beef ribs and sausage and although we don’t usually eat ox liver at all, or salmon that much – I do order salmon from time to time, though.

They do have a night owl option from 10pm to close (which is 1-130 AM, depending on which day you’re looking at). I’ve been to the “night owl” option before but I don’t recommend it although it is cheaper than lunch or dinner, I felt like most of the food were leftovers/the last of it’s batch and it tasted kinda gross IMO…

Plus, the store is open from 3 PM – 10 PM – this menu is seriously making me double checking with their timings via other sources…

They’ve recently added the ayce vegetables to the menu about 2-3 years ago I believe. I’ve only ordered this option once! Sadly, I don’t appreciate grilled vegetables as much.

2015-10-26 18.15.23.jpg
Order up!

Upon ordering your choice, they provide you with an ordering sheet, and you can write as much as you want per item. “Set dish” is really “Side dishes”, and when you pay for ayce, those are free~

2015-10-26 18.16.16.jpg
Beep beep!

This fancy thing was new when we arrived! It is just basically buttons to alert the servers that you need specific stuff, instead of waving/putting up your hand for service – some Korean restaurants have these as well. Although the service did not improve with these buttons implemented…

2015-10-26 18.24.36.jpg
Our side dishes – potato, kimchi, tofu, radish, rice (obviously) and beef soup

Our grilled food came before our side dishes and we still had to wait quite a bit before our side dishes came.. I love their kimchi here, most kimchi(s) are more on the sour side, but the ones here were slightly sweet.

Our beef soup arrived cold – for the first time ever. I was on the verge of complaining but I hesitated. We actually really liked the beef soup here too.

2015-10-26 18.24.55.jpg
Time to begin – with sausage and beef ribs

Time to start cooking!

For those who have yet to try KBBQ, they stack the plates of food on the side, and you just start barbequing! Flip them over from time to time and make sure they’re cooked properly before you chow down.

I would say that beef and pork are the fastest to cook – turning from pink/red to brown, whereas chicken is a bit on the thicker side so make sure that is evenly cooked! The beef ribs tend to get really chewy and messy to eat. The squids curl up when it’s done but if it’s watery when you bite into it, throw it back onto the grill! Fish fillet is hard to pick them up when you grill, so don’t be surprised when it’s all into pieces hahaha

2015-10-26 18.35.28.jpg
Beef and squid almost ready…

When you’re ready for more, you can fill in your 2nd order slip while the food is cooking and call for a server to come pick it up. We didn’t eat for very long and we called for the bill after our 2nd order mostly considered of set dishes.

So let me tell you why I was disappointed in a summary:

  • Took awhile for food to come (when there was barely anyone – just maybe 3-4 small groups of 2-3)
  • Beef soup came cold – this was the most shocking to me..
  • Asking for the server to collect our 2nd order slip and the bill took forever even when pressing the buttons along with waving our hands and with them walking by… Some guy even nodded/signalled to me but he didn’t even get back to us after…

In the end, our total came around $45 (tips included).

Overall, I was not pleased. Probably won’t come back here for a very very long time. My cravings for kbbq has decreased along the years anyways since the charcoal-y/grilled taste has gotten stronger in my taste buds… Might come if some friends would like to, or for a family gathering – but other than that, I won’t recommend this place. Not anymore, anyways.

Till next time, ♥

For more nomz – {the location I went to was at Midland & Finch} Korean Grill House
Korean Grill House Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 Comments

  1. I agree with what you said about service! Should post this to yelp! Btw, was there an automatic service charge if so, did you have to tip?

    Like

    1. Hi Gloria, there’s no free Yelp widget on WordPress so if there’s any way to post to Yelp, please let me know! There was no automatic service charges or “must tips” included, just HST (as usual). I did give them tips because I HAVE enjoyed here before so it was for the old memories there 😔 . The cost was $40 but I paid $45.

      Like

Leave a Reply

